Tags

, , ,

 © 2016  Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM.  World Rights Reserved.

stress, dishwashing, Upbeat Living, Kebba Buckley Button

 

Over the years, and across a variety of dwellings, I have discovered I can cut my stress by handwashing my dishes and eliminating the use of any dishwashers.  That’s right.  I cook and bake a lot, and I have less stress without using a dishwasher.  Conventional wisdom says a dishwasher is a time-saving convenience, and everyone should have and use one.  Some people would call mine a unique stress solution:  not what would work best for everyone.  But as you consider my reasons, ask yourself if there are things you are going along with because conventional wisdom says you “should”, and that’s not really working for you.  Here are the 7 ways dishwashing machines just don’t work for me, instead causing me stress:

  • The noise dominates both the kitchen and surrounding area, even with a “quiet” dishwasher.
  • The vibration is fundamentally disturbing.
  • The smell of dishwasher detergent is unpleasant, cloying, and expands into adjacent rooms.
  • It makes you wait.  With dishes for 2, it would take days to reasonably fill that dishwasher.  And who wants to wait, for their favorite paring knife, cup measure, and spatula?  I have to wash those to reuse them twice a day, anyway.
  • It takes time to load and unload. People think you save time by using the dishwasher.  But you still have to scrape and rinse the dishes, install them in favorable positions in the machine.  Then you have to wait.  Then some dishes have little puddles on them or little white mineral shadows, and they have to be hand-rubbed with a dish towel.  I would rather soak, hand wash, then hand dry the dishes with lightweight cotton dish towels.  My dishes are always clean and sparkling, and each batch is done in far less time than the dishwasher would take.
  • The machine is simply the wrong tool.  My strongest reason for not doing dishwashers is:  many of my favorite tools are not dishwasher-qualified.  Either they would melt in the dishwasher, or they are so light that they would flip around, get bent, even fill with detergent water which spills on the dry dishes, as soon as the dishwasher door is opened.
  • As a bonus, the hot water for hand washing the dishes provides moist heat therapy for my hands.  It feels good.  If the dishes went into the dishwashing machine, I would need to create another habit to give my hands heat therapy.

My conclusion:  dishwashing machines are not for me.  I’m happy about it, so others’ opinions don’t count.  Are there things other people say you should do or own or practice, that just don’t work for you?  Then slash your stress by doing what does work for you.  Feel your tension go down and your energy rise.  And that’s Upbeat Livingsm!

__________________________________________________________

Energy, Peace, Meditation, stress, Peace Within, Upbeat Living

Energy – Peace – Meditation

  • Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert.  She also has a natural healing practice and is an ordained minister. She is the author of the award-winning book, Discover The Secret Energized You (http://tinyurl.com/b44v3br), plus the 2013 book, Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition(http://tinyurl.com/mqg3uvc ). Her newest book is Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, available through her office.  Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com. 
  • For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com .
