Tags

, , ,

Effective author, author stress, stress, smartphones

© 2015  Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM.  World Rights Reserved.

I remember being so delighted with a cartridge pen, in my early writing days.  It was one step up from a quill pen and ink bottle!  I thought of Tom Sawyer having to rewrite his lessons with a feather quill pen, every time I wrote with my beautiful red-barreled pen.  I have been writing since second grade, and the forms and directions of my writing have changed a few times.  The field of writing has also changed more than perhaps any of us could have imagined.  And so has the array of equipment available to help any author.  In fact, we now have the most efficient tools ever, available to us.

This is the seventh in a series of 35 articles to help you become a truly Effective Author, in the reality of the writing market today.  Most of your success will require attention to factors other than the actual writing.  Today, I’m focusing on the smartphone as an author’s tool—and stress preventative.

Here’s a great example of the power of your smartphone.  Recently, during a power outage, I was on deadline and had run down my laptop’s power.  I just hated to revert to paper and pen by flashlight, because then I would have had to keyboard in the whole article when the power came up.  But my smartphone had plenty of juice and a backup power unit.  So, I worked in my Notes app.  First, I selected and copied sections of my COLUMNS Notes, created a new folder of Notes, and labeled it with the name of the column.

I pasted into that folder the section from my COLUMNS notes.  Then I expandedfrom the notes, and wrote an entire column within that folder–yes, still on the smartphone.  (Apparently there is no limit, or there is a generous limit, on the number of words you can have in one Notes folder.)  Then I copied the text of the completed column, went into my Email app, pasted the column text into an email, and emailed the column to myself.  Soon the power came back on, and I was able to capture the column text from my laptop’s email, then use Word to format and post the column online.  Ta daaaah!

Jay Kay said,

I learn fast and I take note of what I’ve been told.

In another example of the power of the smartphone, my QUOTES collection has now grown from nothing to over 80 pages, thanks to my phone.  When I hear or see a delightful quote, I quickly go into the Notes app, into the QUOTES folder.  I enter the quote, followed by two dashes and the name of the person who uttered the quote.  Then I use the take-it-out function to email the whole updated QUOTES folder to myself.

When the new quote arrives in email, it’s labeled QUOTES.  My master QUOTES collection is a Word document on my laptop, filed under BOOKS.  I have it divided by topic, and each topic is highlighted in a box.  The topics are in alphabetical order, except GENERAL, at the top of the document, and UNSORTED, at the end.  When I want a quote for a column or book, I can easily find one in my own collection.  Or, I can do some research, find new cool quotes, and add to the collection.  I often add quotes from live events I’m attending, emailing them to myself directly from my phone. To pull new quotes from my laptop’s email, I simply select the text and drop it into the right place in my master QUOTES document.

Let your smartphone serve you, not a quill pen.  Organize your notes and quotes more each day. And stay tuned to this series.  I want you to be a completely Effective Author.  Questions?

 ___________________________________________________

Energy, Peace, Meditation, stress, Peace Within, Upbeat Living

Energy – Peace – Meditation

 

 Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert and award-winning author.  She also is an ordained minister and has a natural healing practice.  Among her books are: Discover The Secret Energized You (http://tinyurl.com/b44v3br),and Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition (http://tinyurl.com/mqg3uvc ). Her newest book is Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, available through her office.  Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com.   Want an appointment? Or to ask Kebba to speak for your group?  Just email Calendar@kebba.com.

 

