Tags

, , , ,

Stress, author stress, notes, smartphone, Effective Author

 

© 2015  Kebba Buckley Button, MS, OM.  World Rights Reserved.

At lectures, some of you have already been taking notes on your iPad mini or your laptop.  But then how do you organize the notes so you can retrieve them?  At last, I have developed a system.  Smartphone users, rejoice!  It’s time to cultivate your smartphone “Notes” app!  First, open that app.  Then create some categories.  I have about 20.  Now open different folders of notes with a word in capitals that is the category name: QUOTES, LIST, COLUMNS, NOTES (these are notes that don’t have their own folders), MYTOPMENTOR, MY UPCOMINGBOOK.   These first words in each NOTES folder will show as titles of the different Notes folders, when you first open the app.

Of course, substitute the actual name of your top mentor, for notes from their TV show, teleseminars, and such. And substitute the actual name of your upcoming book.  Now, every time you need to make notes, you’ll add them to that folder in Notes on your smartphone. At the end of each lecture or inspiration, use the “send it out” function and email that category of Notes to yourself.  Then, when QUOTES or LIST arrives in your laptop email, you’ll select the text and drop it into a Word document.  You can also select just a section of your QUOTES notes, for example, and drop it into an email to yourself for insertion in a column you’re writing.

Here’s a great example of the power of your smartphone.  Recently, during a power outage, I was on deadline and had run down my laptop’s power.  I just hated to revert to paper and pen by flashlight, because then I would have to keyboard in the whole article when the power came up.  But my smartphone had plenty of juice and a backup power unit.  So, I selected and copied sections of my COLUMNS Notes, created a new folder of Notes, and labeled it with the name of the column.  Then I wrote an entire column within that folder, yes, still on the smartphone.  (Apparently there is no limit, or there is a generous limit, on the number of words you can have in one Notes folder.)  Then I copied the column text, pasted it into an email, and emailed the column to myself.  Soon the power came back on, and I was able to use Word to format and post the column online.

In just one example of the power of notes, my QUOTES collection has now grown to over 80 pages.  It’s a Word document filed under BOOKS.  I have it divided by topic, and each topic is highlighted in a box.  The topics are in alphabetical order, except GENERAL, at the top of the document, and UNSORTED, at the end.  When I want a quote for a column or book, I can easily find one in my own collection.  Or, I can do some research, find new cool quotes, and add to the collection.  I often add quotes from live events I’m attending.

So now, are your notes more organized?  Are you at least inspired?  If you still have a pile or some notes lost in your To Be Filed stacks, keep your spirits up!  The more you create notes in your smartphone or computer, the fewer pieces of paper you’ll have, and the easier it will be to pull a few, transcribe them, and file them in your computer.

Until next time, keep gathering your paper notes and practicing with your smartphone and laptop.  Those notes are still the lifeblood of your writing.  Next time we’ll talk about how to organize the notes in your computer, saving you hundreds of hours of frustration as you go along.  My goal is to show you how to reduce author stress and help you to become a completely Effective Author!  Questions?

_____________________________________________________________

 

Energy, Peace, Meditation, stress, Peace Within, Upbeat Living

Energy – Peace – Meditation

 Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert and award-winning author.  She also is an ordained minister and has a natural healing practice.  Among her books are: Discover The Secret Energized You (http://tinyurl.com/b44v3br),and Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition (http://tinyurl.com/mqg3uvc ). Her newest book is Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine, available through her office.  Just email SacredMeditation@kebba.com.   Want an appointment? Or to ask Kebba to speak for your group?  Just email Calendar@kebba.com.

