Tags

, , ,

Stress, Effective Author, why write

© 2015 Kebba Buckley Button, MS,OM.  World Rights Reserved.

This is the second in a series of 35 articles I call “The Effective Author”.  I mentioned in the first article (http://wp.me/pw4HM-pa) that I had discovered my professional writing life– of many years– is mainly about activities and considerations other than the writing itself.  So I am offering this series to encourage other writers, who may feel bogged down by the many aspects of our writing lives that encumber or enfold the actual writing process.

I began writing in great volume, in my holistic stress-and-pain management career, because I was getting tired of hearing myself explaining the same principles and medical discoveries to every one of my clients.  And while I gave talks to every professional group that invited me, those 30-45-minute talks were necessarily superficial.  So I wrote hundreds of articles and evolved a selection of them into my first book, Discover The Secret Energized You.  Yes, the “The” is capitalized in the title, because of another book that was wildly marketed at the time.  I’ll tell that story in another article.

So are you a person with a mission, who needs to write for that reason? Or are you simply craving to write?  Please, make notes on your thoughts.  One easy technique is to take a blank piece of paper, and begin sketching: your reasons for writing, what you have been writing, what you would like to write, what you would like to be known for.  Imagine your obituary: what will it say about you, your writing, and your life?  What would you like it to say?

William Wordsworth wrote this:

Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.

You need not limit yourself to being either a fiction writer or a nonfiction writer.  Some of the most wildly successful fiction authors started in science careers, and wrote technical books before they wrote fiction.  Consider Kathy Reichs, the creator of 19 mystery novels based on the adventures of Dr. Temperance Brennan, a forensic anthropologist.  The television series, Bones, is now in its tenth year.  Consider Elizabeth Peters, actually a doctorate Egyptologist named Barbara Mertz, who is known for her Amelia Peabody series centered on Egyptian archaeology adventures.  With 19 novels in that series alone, Mertz also penned a non-fiction companion volume.

Write down or sketch out what you love to read and why.  Were there kinds of reading that delighted you in the past, but now perhaps you think you don’t have time for that/them?  For several years, when I was single, I greatly enjoyed the Second Chance At Love romance novels.  A friend gave me a box of them, and they were diverting, refreshing, and encouraging.  Now that I am extremely happily married, that wonderful group of novels don’t interest me at all.  But sometimes I still judge the novel categories for a literary contest or two.  That exposes me to all kinds of novels, and it refills my imagination.

Here is the biggest question:  Does your writing delight you?  If so, you’re writing in a good genre for you.  If you feel tired and strained when you are writing, are you in the wrong area or genre?  Or do you simply need some tools to make it easier?  Feel free to write me for help if you are stuck.  I want you to become a truly Effective Author.

_____________________________________________________________

Energy, Peace, Meditation, stress, Peace Within, Upbeat Living

Energy – Peace – Meditation

 

 

 

 

 

  • Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert.  She also has a natural healing practice and is an ordained minister. She is the author of the award-winning book, Discover The Secret Energized You (http://tinyurl.com/b44v3br), plus the 2013 book, Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition. Her newest book is Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine. Both that book and Peace Within are available through her office.  Just email books@kebba.com
  • For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com.
