Tags

, , , ,

Stress, Effective Author, how to publish, how to write

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2015 Kebba Buckley Button, MS,OM.  World Rights Reserved.

In my life journey as a writer, I remember early English class instruction in such exciting topics as sentence structure and paragraph construction.   Now I am the award-winning author of three books, several course curricula, hundreds of articles, and two meditation CDs.  I never set out to be a writer.  And I’ve found that the writer’s life is only about 10 percent about how to write or about actual writing.  To be an effective author, it is crucial to know a lot about the markets for writing and about skills authors need for time, energy, space, personal, and market management.  So, for this and the next 34 posts, I am offering pieces on what I now believe a person needs to truly be an effective author.  No need to stress about your success.  Just include the surrounding skill areas, and you’ll be on your way.

I had some advantages in getting to where I am.  My home environment was filled with books and thinkers’ magazines.  Literally.  The living room was lined with built-in bookshelves for novels, philosophy books, and encyclopedias. Magazines in English and German were everywhere.  Dad read Der Spiegel–like Germany’s answer to Time Magazine–in the evenings, to keep his knowledge of German fresh.  Sometimes, on trips, Dad bought Readers’ Digest in the airports. It was fun looking through all the topics and humor.  When we had reports to write for school, it was easy and—dare I say—fun, digging through the encyclopedias for bits about Abraham Lincoln or how apple trees grow.  We also went to the town and school libraries a lot.

Mom loved reading fiction, and she taught us to read before first grade.  She especially loved (and still does) mystery novels.  By High School, I took up reading mysteries, to try to bond with her, but she read them so fast (and still does), that that didn’t really work.  Meanwhile, I began to absorb the patterns of fiction.  I believe now that the best writers are those who fell in love with reading at some point.

Looking back, I do remember being told I was a natural writer.  What a shock.  That happened in High School, when we were twice asked to write a descriptive paragraph.  Somehow, I decided to write a microstory each time.  I had a quiet hour in the school library, and I used a thesaurus to make my sentences more colorful, as I told my tiny stories.  At that point, I had already seen the One Minute Mysteries, microstories in collections, where the reader is invited to guess the solution to a crime.  So I believed a story could be told in 300 words or less.

Later, I earned a Bachelor’s degree and a Master’s degree in sciences, for which I had to write countless papers.  In my engineering career, and when I changed over to holistic pain- and stress management, I was still avidly writing columns. Writing had become easy for me. I was driven by a passion to help people.  I still am.

I hope you’ll journey with me, over the next 5 weeks, and write out your own thoughts as I share mine.  Who knows?  You may be ripe to be a truly effective author.

_____________________________________________________________

Energy, Peace, Meditation, stress, Peace Within, Upbeat Living

Energy – Peace – Meditation

 

 

 

  • Kebba Buckley Button is a stress management expert.  She also has a natural healing practice and is an ordained minister. She is the author of the award-winning book, Discover The Secret Energized You (http://tinyurl.com/b44v3br), plus the 2013 book, Peace Within:  Your Peaceful Inner Core, Second Edition. Her newest book is Sacred Meditation: Embracing the Divine. Both that book and Peace Within are available through her office.  Just email books@kebba.com
  • For an appointment or to ask Kebba to speak for your group: calendar@kebba.com.

 

