Tags

, , , , ,


© 2010 Kebba Buckley Button, M.S., O.M.  World Rights Reserved.

I was cutting it close to get to the memorial service on time.  Fortunately, I wasn’t the officiant that day.  Whizzing across Thomas Road, I noticed it was one of those days with a lot of erratic driving.  I warned myself to be careful.  Then I realized I needed to coordinate something with my husband, and I didn’t think I had time to pull over.  So, carefully, I reached for my Blackberry, and, looking at the road as much as possible, I pressed 2 buttons to reach Mr. Button.  (Go ahead and make the button jokes.  We love them.)  I came out of my reverie with nanoseconds to spare, to brake hard and barely avoid hitting the Toyota a few feet ahead, which had likewise come to a screeching halt. Duly startled, I asked myself if maybe this was the moment to truly quit talking on phones while driving.  What really scared me was not whether I could keep my eyes on the road while making a quick call.  What got me was that my eyes were on the road and my mind was in other images.  How many of us have been there?

I thought of The Wordspy’s mention of “iPod oblivion” several weeks ago.  The Wordspy is my favorite source for new words.  Yes, “iPod oblivion” is indeed “obliviousness to one’s surroundings, caused by listening to an iPod or similar device.”  I  straightened up in my seat, sobered by the close call.  I thought of the people I know who would say this was unimportant.  The Wordspy has a word for them, also: “mehsayers”, the people who express apathy and assign nonimportance to many issues.  I pondered other amusing words, such as “recombobulate”.  Apparently, airports are posting signs offering “Recombobulation Areas”, for putting yourself and your things back together after you disperse everything for the Security screenings.  I mused all the way up the Piestewa Freeway to Northern, still noticing that people were driving fast and erratically.  A few blocks from the church, I was rear-ended by an SUV.  A glance in the rearview mirror told me the truck behind had rear-ended the SUV, driving the SUV into my PT  Cruiser.  I was absolutely not going to be late to that memorial service.  I drove on.

I arrived just on time for the service, ahead of twenty others, breathing through my whiplash.  Taking my seat while mouthing silent greetings to loved ones, I thought, “The Wordspy is right!  What I need now is to recombobulate!  Sigh.”

________________________________________________________

Reach the writer at Kebba@Kebba.com

